The Bruce Millar Gulliver Prize Concert

The competition for the Bruce Millar Gulliver Prize  takes the form of a public audition, with a Panel of Experts sitting alongside the audience to assess the candidates’ performances. The next public audition for the Opera Prize will be at 3.00 pm on Sunday 4th March 2018 in the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

The selection of arias for the concert is carried out by the Trust. It includes one aria which is the candidate’s prime choice; the two remaining arias are selected from a further list of four submitted by each candidate. The Trust’s selection tries to ensure that the Panel has the best possible spread of mood, genre, language and vocal requirements to help them reach their verdict.

The Candidates for the 2018 Prize, and the arias they will sing, are:


Rebecca Barry (GSMD – Mezzo-soprano)

‘Ah scotasti…Smanie implacabile’ (Dorabella), Mozart, Cosi fan tutte
‘Give him this orchid…Flowers bring to ev’ry year’ (Lucretia), Britten, The Rape of Lucretia

Michael Mofidian (RAM – Bass-baritone)

‘Stand here, look: my house is perfect’ (The Protector), Benjamin, Written on Skin
‘Sorge infausta una procella’ (Zoroastro), Handel, Orlando

Ida Ränzlöv (RCM – Mezzo-soprano)

‘All’afflitto e dolce il pianto’ (Sara), Donizetti, Roberto Devereux
‘Crude furie degli orridi abissi’ (Serse), Handel, Serse

Rhodri Prys Jones (RWCMD – Tenor)

‘Here I stand’ (Tom Rakewell), Stravinsky, The Rake’s Progress
‘’Avete torto’ (Rinuccio), Puccini, Gianni Schicchi

Lucy Anderson (GSMD – Soprano)

‘Celui don’t la parole…Il est doux, il est bon’ (Salomé), Massenet, Hérodiade
‘A, chi mi dice mai’ (Donna Elvira), Mozart, Don Giovanni

Jerome Knox (RCS – Baritone)

‘Batter my heart’ (Oppenheimer), Adams, Doctor Atomic
‘Lieben, Hassen, Hoffen, Zagen’ (Harlekin), Richard Strauss, Ariadne auf Naxos


Rebecca Barry (RNCM)

‘Va! Laisse couler mes larmes’ (Charlotte), Massenet, Werther

Michael Mofidian (RAM)

‘Ves tabor spit’ (Aleko), Rachmaninov, Aleko

Ida Ränzlöv (RCM)

‘Oh! La pitoyable aventure’ (Concepciòn), Ravel, L’heure Espagnole

Rhodri Prys Jones (RWCMD)

‘Una furtive lagrima’ (Nemorino), Donizetti, L’elisir d’amore

Lucy Anderson (GSMD)

‘To this we’ve come…Papers, papers, papers’ (Magda), Menotti, The Consul

Jerome Knox (RCS)

‘Come un’ape ne’giorni d’Aprile’ (Dandini), Rossini, La Cenerentola